Russian reinforcements.

“Reinforcements have arrived!” LOL, I miss the 90s playing “Command and Conquer” and “Red Alert” all day long. Good old times, sigh…

But yeah, after wasting loads of time and energy looking for more Russian troops willing to invade my scale city, I managed to get this small platoon. They are made by “EagleMoss” (Thanks Kaczor for telling me!) which I believe are produced or at least only sold in Poland, which makes them very, very hard to obtain, and most of the times even very expensive.

Once I had them in my hand, the first thing I noticed is they were made of some sort of hard rubber, which explains why the detail is somewhat lacking. But surprisingly, they are perfect 1/16 scale. Considering most figures you can find are either 1/15 (120mm) or 1/18 scale it really amazes me they are produced in the rare 1/16 scale. They come already painted and for the price I paid, they are quite OK, but definitely you cannot compare them with all the previous resins or even with the styrene figures that I have published in the past.

Even when the factory color was not bad at all and more than adequate for the diorama, I decided to repaint them myself giving some of my personal touch. I must confess they were not very easy to paint. At least for me, the plainer the figure, the harder is to paint. Giving volume to “plain” figures is definitely quite a task for experienced painters. But anyway, I think I kinda managed to enhance the overall look and they make the job very good.

This Soviet platoon consists in, if I am not mistaken; a Captain, a female tank Lieutenant, a conscript and a tank crem man. I already wanted to have a commander for my soviet troops, so I am very happy this set came with one. To rise the bar up, the set arrived with two fuel drums, two ammo boxes with plastic ammo inside, a set of metal ammo and even a camo net, big enough for fitting my T34/76 under it.

So yep, even when they are not top notch figures, I can be worth to have one set. The extra accesories make the hell of a deal of it.

One thought on “Russian reinforcements.

Add yours

  1. I really love those guys, and I am thankful for getting them from you. It´s a shame that there aren´t more 1:16 soldiers of the Great Patriotic War Army out there…

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started