Kapitänleutnant.

I have been struggling with this figure… I put my scope on it since the first time I saw it, which was a couple of years ago, but I could not decide to get it or not. My doubts were what to do with a ship or U-boat captain if I have no navy, neither anything able to float? Furthermore; Does Stolzdorf have coast? Maybe just a massive lake, like the Balaton in Hungary? Too many first world unanswered questions, lol. So, I left it in my shopping chart in Aliexpress until the price was so low that I couldn’t resist getting it. It was going to take two good months to arrive anyway, so that would give me a nice time frame to think about water.

The figure itself is the average Aliexpress resin, 1:16 scale. Detail is as good as any other resin figure, but I had a hard time putting all the parts together. Resin molds were in visible areas, there were gaps to fill and the worse part of all, fitting the legs and arms together was a real pain in the ass which required loads of sanding and putty. Some of this issues can be seen in my figures tutorial.

Anyway, after some effort solving all those issues and a lot of more effort trying to balance it so it stands up on its own feet, the end result is amazing. I really like how it looks! This figure gave me much more work than most of the others did, so I would not recommend it as a first resin figure to anybody, but at least it was very easy and fast to paint because 90% of the work was done with an airbrush. My friend Wolfgang pointed me the Kaleuns (thanks for the word!) had a white cap, but I am afraid it was too late… The figure was already painted and varnished. It does not matter, I like the look of it as it is. I guess this will be the official Stolzdorf’s Kriegsmarine uniform.

At this point I guess I need something able to cross the seven seas… First candidate would be the 1:16 Krick-Sirius boat which would be converted to some sort of anti air flak defense. Second option would be a ·3D printed Seehund…. Decisions, decisions… I think I am leaning more into the boat. Submarines are over complicated and too many things can go wrong underwater meaning the total lost of the model in the dark (almost black, iihhggg!…) ponds around the city.

Time will tell… I don’t know when (or if) I will be getting any water toy. Maybe yes, but I’d say it will take at least 5 years or so. Building my scale city has more priority right now. Meanwhile I will keep thinking what to do with my dystopian village… Where the hell is Stolzdorf located? Did the poles melted and water reached Austria? We shall see…



2 thoughts on “Kapitänleutnant.

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started